83802160
Ali Yusef pic of the Green Zone external road suicide bombed yest by a blonde chick.

I think my ex is in the Mid East but I haven’t heard from her:

“We saw an attractive woman with long blond hair heading towards Checkpoint 3,” said a 37-year-old soldier who gave his name as Abu Amir, or father of Amir, referring to a major pedestrian entrance to the Green Zone. “She talked with my two friends Hasan and Ibrahim for about 15 minutes.

“I was looking at her, but I had to go back to my job behind the blast wall,” the soldier recalled. “I heard the bomb at 8:30 a.m., and when I hurried out to my two friends, they were dead.”

Blond hair is rare among Iraqis.

That was a really bad joke. Sorry.

Anyway, violence remains perpetual in Baghdad. Three bombs killed 21 yestarday. Here’s a roundup of the day’s violence in the capital:

McClatchy reports political violence in Iraq on Monday. Baghdad:

– Around 7:30 a.m. a magnetic bomb detonated under a bus for Ministry of Trade employees carrying 18 passengers – 17 female employees and a child. Fourteen passengers were killed, including the child. Three women and the bus driver were wounded, police and witnesses said.

– Around 8:30 a.m. a female suicide bomber detonated near the checkpoint three outside the International Zone where the U.S. embassy and Iraqi government buildings are located. Iraqi police say five people were killed – three civilians and two Iraqi soldiers – and 2 others were wounded. The U.S. military confirmed one death, the Iraqi soldier, and eight injuries.

– Around 11 a.m. a roadside bomb targeted a police patrol in Sinaa street near the Technology University in the Karrada neighborhood (east Baghdad). One person was killed and five others were wounded, including three policemen.

– A mortar hit Meda’in town ( south of Baghdad). Six people were wounded.

I’m still one of the folks who doesn’t understand how we plan on removing all US troops by 2011. Yes, withdrawals should begin ASAP, but what are the parameters for reengagement, i.e. if mass sectarian violence breaks out?

